Bulletin Staff Report

SALEM — Mountain View qualified 12 wrestlers for state and finished second as a team Saturday at the Class 6A Mountain Valley Conference district wrestling championships at Sprague High School.

Sprague won the team title with 479 points, Mountain View was second with 363.5, and Bend High took third in the eight-team field with 195 points. Summit finished eighth with 53 points.

Three Cougars were crowned MVC champions: Beau Ohlson, Carson Fassett and Colton Burkhardt.

Ohlson was voted by MVC coaches as the outstanding wrestler of the tournament.

He pinned Luke Merzenich of Sprague in 2 minutes, 31 seconds, in the 138-pound championship match.

Fassett defeated Brook Byers of Sprague 4-2 in the 152-pound final, and Burkhardt pinned Cole Bacheller of Sprague in 47 seconds in the 170 final.

“Sprague really has a solid team,” said Mountain View coach Les Combs. “They’ll be going for trophies at state. Our three champions did a great job. They just had a stellar tournament.”

Seven other Cougars reached the finals but lost there to finish second: Caleb Potts (106), Tyson Oliver (113), Nathan Jones (120), Ryder Fassett (126), Cannon Potts (145), Blake Ohlson (182) and Jacob Conklin (220).

Payton Davis led the way for the Lava Bears, winning the 182-pound title by defeating Blake Ohlson 1-0. Two Bend wrestlers finished second: James Anderson at 132 and Nathan Denney at 195.

Four Lava Bears qualified for state.

Dan Raley was the top wrestler for Summit, winning the third-place match at 132 pounds by pinning Owen Barber of South Salem in 55 seconds. Raley was the lone state qualifier for the Storm.

The top three finishers in each weight class automatically qualify for the state championship meet next week in Portland. Some fourth-place finishers also will qualify based on criteria calculated by the OSAA.

Also Saturday:

La Pine claims district crown

ROSEBURG — La Pine boasted six district champions and qualified 13 wrestlers for state as the Hawks won the Class 3A Special District 3 team championship at Umpqua Community College. Winning district champions for the Hawks were Carmelo Farfaglia (106), Dylan Mann (113), Derrik Kerr (132), Dylan Hankey (145), Trentyn Tennant (170) and Daniel Underwood (220). La Pine won the team title in the six-team meet with 310 points, Douglas was second with 196, and Sutherlin took third with 166.5.

Culver takes 18th straight district title

HALFWAY — Culver easily won the Class 2A/1A Special District 4 team championships, finishing the two-day tournament with 340 points. Pine Eagle was second in the 12-team field with 179 points, and Grant Union was third with 130. The Bulldogs’ win marked the program’s 18th consecutive district title, and they qualified 10 wrestlers for the 2A/1A state championships in the process. Six Culver wrestlers won district titles: Lorenzo Vasquez at 126 pounds, Lane Downing (138), Hunter Augustynovich (145), Isaiah Toomey (152), Joseph Russo (182) and Cylus Hoke (195). Culver coach J.D. Alley noted in particular the dominance of Toomey and Augustynovich. “It was a pretty hard-fought district,” Alley said. “Our kids really answered the bell.”