Bulletin staff report

CORVALLIS — Four Central Oregon teams won quarterfinal matches Thursday to advance to the semifinal round of the Oregon High School Water Polo 5A/4A state championships.

In boys afternoon play at Osborn Aquatic Center, top-seeded Mountain View routed No. 8 Churchill 18-4 to set up a semifinal clash with crosstown rival Summit next week. The No. 5 Storm knocked off No. 4 Parkrose of Portland 6-4 to advance.

Also in the boys bracket, No. 3 Bend High drubbed No. 6 Ashland 16-4 to move into a semifinal game against No. 2 Hood River Valley, a 27-9 quarterfinal winner over No. 7 North Eugene. Bend was led by Ian Marks with nine goals and two steals, Alex Moore with three goals, five steals and four assists, and Kurt Felder with two goals, four steals and three assists.

Lava Bears goalie Jackson McMuldren had 13 blocks, four steals and three assists.

In Mountain View’s win over Churchill of Eugene, Tarren Black and Tanner Steele had three goals apiece and Noah Weedman, Preston Carey, Jack Wieseman and Kieran Perret scored two goals each. Weedman also had seven assists and five steals, and Black and Taiton Fox had four steals apiece. Cougars goalies Iqmal Wolfenden and Carey combined for seven blocks.

The Summit boys were paced by Kole Miller’s four goals, and goalie Ty Zuber made 18 saves in the closest contest of the day.

The girls evening session was capped by No. 2 Summit’s 16-1 romp over No. 7 North Eugene. The Storm were led by Conner Hamlin with five goals. Meghan Garrett scored three and Morgan Hagfors, Maddie Coleman and Anna Carillo added two apiece. The win vaulted the Storm into a semifinal match with No. 3 Sandy, which eliminated No. 6 Ridgeview 12-2.

The season also ended for the No. 4 Bend High girls, who fell 11-8 to No. 5 Ashland despite five goals by Caroline Offenhauser. Phaedra Marks scored two goals and Jessie Wiest scored one for the Lava Bears, and goalie Mia Vergari had nine blocks.

Next week, state semifinals in the boys and girls brackets will take place Friday, and the championship matches are set for Saturday, Nov. 11, all at Osborn Aquatic Center.