Bulletin staff report

The Intermountain Conference baseball all-league teams have been announced, and Bend High and Ridgeview combine for 11 of 17 players named to the first team in the six-team league.

Bend’s Dalton Hurd, who batted .596 on the season with 14 extra-base hits and 15 runs batted in, was selected the IMC player of the year after helping the Lava Bears to a 21-6 overall record and their first conference championship since 2009. Ridgeview’s Dakota Schaumburg was named the pitcher of the year after going 3-2 with three complete games and 33 strikeouts in 32 2⁄3 innings pitched. Bend’s Bret Bailey was voted the league’s coach of the year.

Other Lava Bears named to the IMC first team were Creighton Simmonds (second base), J.J. Spitler (outfield), Elliot Willy (utility) and Sami Godlove (pitcher). Hurd was also chosen to the first team as a pitcher, while Spitler and Godlove were selected to the second team as pitcher and shortstop, respectively.

Also for Ridgeview, which went 19-7 during the regular season, George Mendazona was named to the first team as a shortstop and to the second team as a pitcher. The Ravens’ Kahl Malott (first base), Collin Runge (third base) and Tyler Ross (designated hitter) were first-team selections.

Catcher Cal Waterman, outfielder Josh Cherry, utility player Dylan Albertazzi and pitcher Chris Mason represent Summit on the first team. Redmond High catcher Hunter Smith and Mountain View outfielder Devin Haney were named to the first team. Crook County’s lone all-league selection was Spencer Copeland, who was named to the IMC second team.

For a complete list of all-IMC baseball players, see Prep Scoreboard, C5 .

Lava Bears highlight all-IMC softball teams: Five Bend High players have been named to the Intermountain Conference’s softball first team, led by pitcher of the year Megan Berrigan and player of the year Lisa Sylvester. Berrigan went 10-4 in the circle with 11 complete games and 105 strikeouts in leading the Lava Bears to a 19-6 record during the regular season and a share of the IMC title with Ridgeview. Sylvester batted .432 with two home runs, seven doubles and 15 RBIs for Bend. Ridgeview’s Sandy Fischer was chosen IMC coach of the year. Other Bend players named to the first team were catcher Awbrie Elle Kinkade and infielders Kendall Kramer and Katie Brown. The Ravens boast four first-team selections in pitcher Rachel Collins, catcher Paige Davis and infielders Erin Ware and Hannah George. Infielder Kiahna Brown and outfielder Kaitlin Ross were first-team selection from Redmond High, while pitcher Emily Benton and infielder Jena Ovens represent Crook County on the IMC first team. Mountain View’s Hannah Wicklund was voted to the first team as a utility player/designated hitter and to the second team as a pitcher. Alex Popp, chosen as a second-team outfielder, highlighted Summit’s all-league selections. For a complete list of all-IMC softball players, see Prep Scoreboard, C5 .

TVC releases all-league softball, baseball: Six Madras softball players were recognized recently when the Tri-Valley Conference released its all-league teams. Juniors Shelby Mauritson and Keely Brown were named as a first-team infielder and utility player, respectively, and freshman Chloe Martin was named a first-team outfielder after leading the White Buffaloes to an 11-14 overall record and a 7-8 mark in TVC play. Sophomore Jasmyn Reese was a second-team selection as a pitcher for Madras, junior Elysia Moran was named a second-team infielder, and senior Elyse Bagley received honorable mention as an infielder. Gladstone’s Megan Kirchem was named the league’s pitcher of the year, while seniors Julia Schumaker of Gladstone and Michaela Meeuwsen of North Marion shared player of the year honors. La Salle’s Walt Stockfletch was voted the conference’s coach of the year. Cody Shepherd was the only Madras player selected to the TVC’s all-league baseball squad, as the junior infielder was named to the second team. Brandon Beck of Estacada was picked as the pitcher of the year, North Marion’s Kyle Williamson was chosen as player of the year, and Estacada’s Ryan Carpenter was named the conference’s coach of the year.

Former Panthers recognized by GNAC: Northwest Nazarene sophomore Justin Callen, a 2011 Redmond High graduate, has been named to the Great Northwest Athletic Conference baseball second team as an outfielder. Callen paced the Division-II Crusaders of Idaho with a .331 batting average on the season, while logging team highs in RBIs (26) and home runs (five). Teammate Alyssa Nitschelm, a 2013 Redmond grad, was recognized as the GNAC’s player of the week at the end of April. In four games during that week, Nitschelm went 8 for 11 with two doubles and four RBIs.

College commitments from Cougars: Two senior Mountain View football players have announced they will play football at the next level, as Austin Phillips and Blake Knirk recently committed to play for NCAA Division-I University of Idaho and D-3 Willamette University, respectively. Phillips was named the Intermountain Conference’s defensive player of the year in 2013 en route to a second-team all-state selected on defense. He was also selected as a first-team all-IMC center and is expected to walk on at Idaho. Knirk, an honorable mention quarterback last fall, will join former Cougars Kyle Shaver and Trevor Roberts at Willamette.

Former Bend standout is all-league: Colton Raichl, a 2011 Bend High grad and a junior at the University of Idaho, has been named a second-team attacker by the Pacific Northwest College Lacrosse League. Raichl led the Vandals in goals (37) and assists (18) while ranking fourth in the conference in points per game (4.231). The former Lava Bear also passed 100 career goals in leading Idaho to a 6-7 overall record.

La Pine alum stars at CCC championships: La Pine High grad Kassi Conditt won the women’s shot put at the Cascade Collegiate Conference track and field championships earlier this month at Northwest Nazarene University in Nampa, Idaho. Conditt, a senior at the Oregon Institute of Technology in Klamath Falls, recorded a throw of 43 feet, 4 1⁄2 inches to win the event by two feet and post OIT’s lone individual victory at the meet.

Former Cowboy named to all-league team: Crook County grad Zach Close received Midwest Collegiate Conference first-team baseball honors after leading AIB College of Business of Des Moines, Iowa, to a 25-20 overall record and a third-place finish in the MCC. Close, who was also selected to the league’s Gold Glove Team, hit .315 on the season with an on-base percentage of .445. He led the Eagles with four home runs and 17 stolen bases and had a .993 fielding percentage with 128 putouts.