Summit vs Mountain View football

Mountain View's Sayre Williamson attempts to outrun Summit's Jack Clemans (36) and Ben Woodard (4) during the second quarter on Oct. 16. Clemans, the Mountain Valley Conference's Defensive Player of the Year, leads the Storm against Roseburg Friday night in a 6A second-round playoff game.

Summit’s Clemans MVC’s top defender

For his efforts playing on one of the state’s most stingy defenses, Summit senior linebacker Jack Clemans was named the Mountain Valley Conference’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Among Summit, Mountain View and Bend high schools seven players were named to the conference’s first team.

Summit had six players receive all-conference honors on two sides of the ball. Junior Spencer Elliot (first-team offensive guard and second-team defensive line), Clemans (first-team LB and honorable mention running back), senior Joe Schutz (first-team cornerback and second-team wide receiver), senior Soren McKee (first-team punter and kicker), senior Ryan Powell (honorable mention RB and corner) and senior Henry Hagen (honorable mention offensive tackle and defensive line).

Junior Chip Allers was named to the first-team defense and junior center Carter Nelson to the first-team offense.

High School Sports Scoreboard

Receive text alerts for scores and schedules

Mountain View’s senior RB Sayre Williamson was the only Cougar to make the first team. Senior tight end Sam Larson, senior WR Jordan Kenney and sophomore offensive guard Deakon Looney were named to the second-team offense, while junior Nick Hopper was named to the second-team defense.

Making both the second-team offense and defense for Bend High was senior Sean Deane as an offensive tackle and defensive linemen. Bend senior LB Logan Malinowski made first team.

Ridgeview’s Martin named SD1 Lineman of Year: The all-conference teams for the 5A-Special District 1, which feature Redmond and Ridgeview, were announced earlier this week.

The two Redmond schools had a combined eight players make the conference’s first team, with seven of them coming from Ridgeview — including Lineman of the Year, Joe Martin.

Ravens on the first team included junior RB Eric Pendergrass, junior WR and punter Jeremiah Schwartz, senior tight end Zach Gault, and defensive line and junior LB Matt Mathis. Senior LB Gabe Robles was the lone Panther on the first team.

Sign up for our Daily Headlines newsletter

— Bulletin staff report

(2) comments


Grant Smith 2nd Team All Conference Linebacker, Sunmit


Charlie Ozolin was also All Conference “2nd Team Safety at Summit.”

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.