Bulletin Staff Report

Two high school seniors from Bend have received scholarships worth up to $40,000 each from Oregon State University.

Magnus L’Argent from Bend High School and Zoe Morrison from Summit High School were awarded the Presidential Scholarship, the university’s most prestigious academic scholarship. Only 34 other students entering OSU earned the award this year, according to a press release from the university.

Recipients of the scholarship get $10,000 each year for up to four years. In order to receive it, students must be high school seniors, Oregon residents and have at least a 3.85 unweighted GPA and either a minimum score of 1360 on the SAT or 29 on the ACT. OSU also judged applicants on their uniqueness, accomplishments and participation in various academic, intellectual and leadership activities. This year, 793 students met the minimum qualifications for the scholarship, the press release stated.