How to submit

Teen feats: Kids recognized recently for academic achievements or for participation in clubs, choirs or volunteer groups. (Please submit a photo.)

Contact: 541-383-0358,

Mail: P.O. Box 6020, Bend, OR 97708

Other school notes: College announcements, military graduations or training completions, reunion announcements.

Contact: 541-383-0358,

Story ideas

School briefs: Items and announcements of general interest.

Phone: 541-633-2161


Student profiles: Know of a kid with a compelling story?

Phone: 541-383-0354



The Bend High School class of 1974 will hold a reunion Aug. 8-9; no-host bar, 61276 S. U.S. Highway 97, Bend, 5 to 11 p.m. Aug. 8; Bend High School tour, 10 a.m. Aug. 9; Bend Golf and Country Club, 61045 Country Club Drive, Bend, 5 to 11 p.m. Aug. 9; visit to register or contact Kathy Timm at 541-480-4345 or .

The Redmond Union High School class of 1959 will hold a reunion Aug. 2; American Legion Park, 850 S.W. Rimrock Way, Redmond, 2 to 5 p.m.; a picnic with sandwiches and salad served; $22 per person, registration requested by June 15; Contact Marv Gage at 541-419-2000 or .

The USS Iwo Jima Shipmates Organization will hold a reunion for LPH2 and LHD7 shipmates Aug. 27-31; Crowne Plaza Hotel, 1201 Riverplace Blvd., Jacksonville, Fla.; visit to register or contact Robert McAnally at 757-723-0317 or .

College Notes

The following local students have been named to the winter 2014 dean’s list at Eastern Oregon University: Paulette Banducci, Kate Billington, Kendall Current, Brian Delamarter, Brianna Fessler, Kathy Fish, Ana Garcia Solis, Cole Griffin, Shanda Handsaker, Tabitha Johnson, Michael Lizardy, Randy McBride, Timothy McCloud, Alyssa Meek, Karen Miller, Zachary Roberts, Mirta Smith, Jeffrey Wilder, Brittany Williams and Andrew Zaiser.

The following local students have been named to the spring 2014 dean’s list at Gonzaga University: Mitchell Bailey, Alexandra Crowell, Natalie Nigg and Shawni Wall.

The following local students have been named to the spring 2014 president’s list at Gonzaga University: Olivia Brewer, Austin Caswell, Clare Greaney, Conor Hegewald, Alivia Norwood and Rachel Simmons.

Max Millslagle, of Bend, was named to the winter 2014 dean’s list at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine. Millslagle is a 2013 graduate of Summit High School. He is the son of John Millslagle and Vickery Viles, of Bend.

Seth Flegel, of Prineville, has been awarded a $750 Oregon Farm Bureau Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship recognizes students who will make a positive impact in agricultural-related fields. Flegel is an agriculture business major at Eastern Oregon University.

Nicole Olivier, of Sisters, has graduated with a bachelor’s degree from Providence College.

Jack McGinnis, of Bend, has graduated with associate degrees from Southwestern Oregon Community College.