Children’s books

“Do You Believe in Unicorns?” by Bethanie Deeney Murguia

Step into the land of make believe and let your imagination take flight with this enchanting story about a four-legged beast. It is a mystery, and young detectives must piece together the clues. Is this the tale of an ordinary horse with a hat or an extraordinary creature of magic and light? Murguia’s coy, let-kids be-the-judge approach to storytelling invites children to choose their own ending. The clean design, gentle hues and charmed storyline sparkle and lend themselves to bedtime reading.

“Sophie Johnson,

Unicorn Expert,” by Morag Hood, illustrated by Ella Okstad

This seasoned picture-book author and illustrator, best known for “I Am Bat,” makes a colorful splash with this whimsical tale. Meet Sophie Johnson, the master of enchanted creatures and a unicorn specialist. Sophie is so busy wrangling, training and dressing up pets, stuffed animals and her baby brother that she fails to spot the mythical creature hiding in plain sight. Children will delight in the opportunity to explore the bright, expressive imagery in order to find the “hidden” unicorn after the turn of each page.

Teen books

“Bruja Born,” by Zoraida Córdova

In this fast-paced and bewitching follow-up to “Labyrinth Lost,” the first book in the not-to-be-missed “Brooklyn Brujas” series, Lula Mortiz’s world is destroyed when a bus crash kills her boyfriend Maks and her schoolmates. Lula uses her magical gifts to cheat death — spurring transformative chaos in this thrilling and immersive story of love, blood, magic and disastrous consequences. Córdova’s world building is mesmerizing, and she successfully blends together elements of magical realism, romance, pop-culture and Latin American folklore.

“Almost Impossible,” by Nicole Williams

A swoon-worthy beach or fireside read, featuring well developed characters and witty repartee. Spending summer vacation with her aunt in California meant anything was possible for bookish Jade. But she didn’t expect to fall in love with Quentin, the adorably handsome boy next door. That part was simple, but staying together when she knows he’s hiding a secret is not so easy. Jade is determined to find out what Quentin is hiding. This short love story is sure to fulfill the hopes and dreams of young romance readers everywhere and possesses just enough snark to avoid being overly saccharin. Perfect for fans of Jenny Han.

— Roxanne M. Renteria, Deschutes Public Library community librarian

Adult books

“1,000 Books to Read Before You Die: A Life-Changing List,” by James Mustich

Coming on the heels of “The Great American Read: The Book of Books,” this fascinating compilation encompasses fiction, poetry, biographies, children’s and young adult books, science fiction, horror novels and more.

This diverse and expansive treasury provides a summary of the title, publication date, other works by the author and any adaptations to screen or stage.

“Becoming,” by Michelle Obama

Michelle Obama says she is “an ordinary person who found herself on an extraordinary journey.” But what is revealed in “Becoming” is an extraordinary woman of integrity, determination, strong family values and patriotism, who has successfully taken on many roles in her life. She traces her incredible journey from her youth in south side Chicago, through her education at Princeton and Harvard and the momentous meeting of Barack Obama, to her life in the public eye as our nation’s first lady.

— Josephine Caisse, Deschutes Public Library community librarian

21978920