Bulletin staff report

After racking up nine team state championships during the 2013-14 school year, Summit High received the All-Sports Award for Class 5A at the Oregon Athletic Coaches Association Coach of the Year Awards Banquet on May 24.

In addition to their team titles, the Storm boasted 18 individual state champions, and six Summit coaches received OACA coach of the year awards.

Ron Kidder (boys soccer), Jamie Brock (girls soccer), Carol McLatchie (boys and girls cross-country), Amy Halligan (boys and girls swimming), Dave Turnbull (boys and girls track and field) and Jerry Hackenbruck (girls golf) each received OACA coach of the year honors for Summit. The OACA presented coach of the year plaques to coaches in 19 sports in each of the six classifications.

Also receiving recognition was former Summit boys golf coach Mark Tichenor, who resigned from the program at the end of the 2013 season. Tichenor was named the National Federation of State High School Associations coach of the year for Section 8, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Washington and Wyoming.

Others with Central Oregon ties who were recognized at the banquet included Gabrielle Alley, a Culver senior who received one of eight $1,000 scholarships. Crook County’s Kristy Struck was selected as an assistant coach of the year for her work with the Cowgirls’ state champion volleyball team.

Storm highlight all-league teams: Eight Summit players were named to the High Desert Conference all-league boys lacrosse teams, including first-team attacker Griffin Reinecke and first-team midfielder Nick Rasmussen. Of the league’s seven teams, the conference champion Storm boasted the most players selected to the High Desert first and second teams. James Rockett (attack), Quinn Fettig (defense) and Lake Larsen (goalie) were named to the first team for Bend High, while Scott Nelson (attack), Jens Stadeli (midfield) and Porter Ford (defense) are first-team players for Sisters. Mountain View’s Imran Wolfenden (long stick midfielder) and Max Tague (defense) were also named to the first team. Sisters’ Bill Rexford is the High Desert coach of the year, and Mountain View’s Dan Marut was chosen as the assistant coach of the year. All-league teams from each of the Oregon High School Lacrosse Association’s eight conferences will compete in an all-star team tournament June 14-15 in Sisters.

Seven Central Oregon Lacrosse players named all-league: After leading Central Oregon Lacrosse to a 12-2 overall record and the South League title, seven girls lacrosse players were selected to the all-conference team. Cayley Allan (attack), Annie Beaver and Lauren Gallivan (midfielders), Kalie McGrew (defense) and Kelsey Norby (goalie) were named to the South League first team. Attacker Kyra Hajovsky and midfielder Allie Rockett are second-team players, and Central Oregon co-coaches Kate Fleming and Polly Purcell are the league’s coaches of the year.

Storm basketball player off to N.C.: Summit High’s Riley Shelton committed to Division II Belmont Abbey College in North Carolina to play basketball. A four-year basketball, football, and track and field athlete at Summit, the 6-foot-7-inch senior played sparingly for the Storm during the 2013-14 season but had an eight-rebound, eight-block game against Crook County.

Lava Bear selected to all-star series: Bend High senior Dalton Hurd was the lone Central Oregon baseball player chosen to represent the South in the Reser’s Oregon All-Star Series, set for June 14-15 in Corvallis. Oregon’s top senior players in Class 6A and 5A are split into two teams for a three-game series at Oregon State’s Goss Stadium, which includes two seven-inning games on June 14, the first beginning at 1 p.m., and one nine-inning game the next day starting at 10 a.m. Each 21-player roster was selected by 6A and 5A coaches. In helping Bend to a 21-7 overall record and the No. 1 ranking in 5A, Hurd was named the Intermountain Conference player of the year. For more information on the Oregon All-Star Series or to purchase tickets, visit www.oregonallstarseries.com.

Four local players and coaches set for all-star series: Two Central Oregon baseball players and a pair of local coaches were chosen to represent their respective schools at the Oregon 4A High School Baseball Series, scheduled for June 14-15 at Legion Field in Roseburg. The North vs. South matchup, pitting the state’s top senior players in Class 4A, consists of one nine-inning game starting at 7 p.m. on June 14 and two seven-inning contests the next day, the first of which is to start at noon. Ridgeview’s Dakota Schaumburg is expected to be one of 18 players on the North team, which will be coached by the Ravens’ Josh Davis along with Randy Brack of North Marion. Expected to play for the South is Sisters’ Jardon Weems, and the South squad will be coached by Sisters’ Steve Hodges and Henley’s Tim Cleland. Admission each day is $5 for adults and $3 for children.

National recognition for former Cowboy : Crook County grad Zach Close, a junior at AIB College of Business in Iowa, has been named to the Rawlings-NAIA Baseball Gold Glove Team. Close is a first-team all-conference center fielder for the Eagles and posted a fielding percentage of .993 to go along with a .315 batting average. He is one of nine players recognized for their defensive prowess and were selected by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association All-America Selection Committee.

Summit High seeks coaches: Summit High has head coach openings for the Storm’s nordic skiing, ultimate frisbee and equestrian programs. Those interested should contact Summit activities director Reno Holler at 541-355-4207.