Ducks hold on for Pac-12 win — Mitchell Tolman belted a two-run triple in the top of the fifth inning and scored on a throwing error to break a 2-2 tie, and Oregon held on Friday for a 5-4 Pac-12 Conference victory over Arizona State in Tempe, Ariz. Tolman finished with three RBIs for the Ducks, who improved to 14-8 in Pac-12 play and 36-14 overall, and Josh Graham went 2 for 4 with an RBI. Arizona State (12-10 Pac-12, 24-21 overall) was led by Trever Allen’s 2-for-4 day at the plate, including a triple, and Brian Serven went 2 for 4 with two RBIs.

Beavers rally to beat Bruins — Oregon State broke a 2-2 tie with two bases-loaded walks in the eighth inning and held on to edge UCLA 4-2 at Goss Stadium in Corvallis on Friday night to capture the opener of their Pacific-12 Conference series. Senior lefty Ben Wetzler earned his school-record 33rd career win with eight solid innings. He allowed eight hits, two runs, struck out eight and did not issue a walk. The Beavers (18-4 Pac-12, 36-8 overall) and Bruins (10-12, 23-23) continue their series today at 7 p.m.


Eaton sets two meet records— Ashton Eaton, the reigning Olympic decathalon champion and former Mountain View standout, set new meet records in the 110-meter hurdles and the 1,600-meter relay Friday at the Oregon Twilight. Eaton won the 110 hurdles in 13.47 seconds, besting his own meet record of 13.52 seconds, which he set in 2011. In the relay, Eaton teamed with Nike OTC Elite runners Elijah Greer, Harun Abda and Charles Jock to post at time of 3 minutes, 8.03 seconds, shattering the old mark of 3:12.13 set in 2009. Eaton was not the only athlete with Central Oregon ties to shine Friday. Former Bend High star Kimber Mattox won the women’s 3,000-meter steeplechase in 10:00.44, Bradley Laubacher, a sophomore at Oregon, took second in the men’s high jump (2.09 meters), and Annie Sidor, an Oregon State freshman, was third in the women’s pole vault (3.4 meters).

Motor sports

Harvick sets track record to win Kansas pole — Kevin Harvick set a track record to win the pole at Kansas Speedway. Harvick posted his record time of 194.658 mph Friday in the second round of NASCAR’s knockout qualifying format. Harvick then hit 194.252 in the third round to win his second pole of the season. Joey Logano joins Harvick on the front row today for the first night race in Kansas history.

Saavedra wins first pole after Hunter-Reay crash — Sebastian Saavedra has won the pole for the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis when Ryan Hunter-Reay was stripped of his two fastest laps for bringing out the red flag during the final qualifying group. Hunter-Reay had just moved to the top of the Fast Six in Friday qualifying when he lost control of his car on a wet track while exiting Turn 14. The IndyCar rule is to strip a driver of his two fastest laps for bringing out a red flag during qualifying. That dropped Hunter-Reay to third and Saavedra won the first pole of his career.

— From wire reports