Oregon’s new laws for 2014

Driving, health bills top the list

By Lauren Dake / The Bulletin / @LaurenDake

Published Dec 30, 2013 at 12:01AM

SALEM — Starting New Year’s Day, hundreds of new laws take effect.

On Jan. 1, Oregon’s minimum wage will climb by 15 cents an hour to $9.10, and the state’s cigarette tax will increase 13 cents per pack to $1.31.

New mothers will be able to take home their placenta from the hospital and a rodeo event known as horse tripping will be illegal.

Several of the new laws will mean changes for Oregon drivers.

To encourage Oregonians to keep both hands on the wheel, the fine for driving while using a cellphone will increase from $250 to a maximum of $500.

And for the first time, it will be illegal for drivers to smoke in their car if a child is present.

One noteworthy law passed in the 2013 Oregon Legislature will not be enacted. Lawmakers approved a measure allowing those living in the state who can’t prove they live here legally the opportunity to obtain a driving card.

Opponents, however, gathered enough signatures to refer the measure to the 2014 ballot, putting the program on hold.

Here’s a sampling of some of the other new laws slated to take effect the first of the year:

House Bill 2252: The Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife will now be able to issue multi-year hunting and fishing licenses. The measure also gives active out-of-state military personnel the chance to hunt in the state for the same price as residents.

House Bill 2783: Makes it illegal to tether a dog on a short leash for extended periods. If the dog is hurt, it could result in a maximum fine of $6,250 and one year in prison.

House Bill 2654: Employers will be prohibited from requiring job applicants to hand over access to their social media accounts and if an employee declines to give such information, this measure aims to protect that person from retaliation.

Senate Bill 344: Prohibits community colleges and universities, both public and private, from requiring students to hand over passwords to their social media accounts.

House Bill 3400: Requires the state’s transparency website to show a list of expenditures that state agencies make when contracting for goods and services.

House Bill 2896: Bans minors younger than 18 from using tanning beds unless they need to do so for medical purposes.

Senate Bill 281: Expands the medical marijuana program so those experiencing post-traumatic stress disorder qualify to be treated by medical marijuana.

Senate Bill 420: Requires doctors to notify patients whose mammogram results show dense breast tissue.

Dense breast tissue could increase a person’s odds of having breast cancer.

The goal is to move toward early detection.

— Reporter: 541-554-1162, ldake@bendbulletin.com